The Big Barge at the Museu de Marinha (Maritime Museum) in Lisbon Portugal
Known as the Big Barge, or Galeota Grande, she was built in 1728 by order of King Jaoa V for his own use. She was manned by 80 oarsmen, 1 coxswain and 1 bowman. The Museu de Marinha (Maritime Museum of Navy Museum) focuses on Portuguese maritime history. It features exhibits on Portugal's Age of Discovery, the Portuguese Navy, commercial and recreational shipping, and, in a large annex, barges and seaplanes. Located in the Belem neighborhood of Lisbon, it occupies, in part, one wing of the Jerónimos Monastery. Its entrance is through a chapel that Henry the Navigator had built as the place where departing voyagers took mass before setting sail. The museum has occupied its present space since 1963.